Skip navigation

First Posted Sunday June 4, 2006

I went last night with a couple of friends to roleplay, some D&D. It has been so long since I had a good gaming session that I thought I would give it a try.

Sidenote: He IMed Kyra and had her ask us if anyone had heard of the Sunless Citadel module. I had because, well let’s face it, I’m me. He wanted to cancel the session then and there. He thought I would metagame. To this, I responded with complete and utter disdain and anger “Kyra, tell that asshole that *I* am a CONSUMMATE PROFESSIONAL when it comes to gaming.” and then mumbled on about people accusing me of cheating without knowing me.

We get to my neighbor’s friend’s house, where we will be playing, and got down to business. Now Pierce and I had already made characters, deciding that since the DM was already jerking us around about the start time and giving us no advance warning of what the game would be, we would defy him and make characters ahead of time. We defied him further by taking non-core classes.

Hey, if he can’t take it, fuck him.

So there we are, pregame, working with Kyra and Jenn on making characters, and jacking around listening to music on Jenn’s (the hostess) computer. Side note: Cool music. Anyway, he finally gets there, and the first thing I thought was “And there, but for the grace of God, go I.”

So he asks us, “What is everyone playing?” Kyra spouts out that her character is a halfling rogue, and Jenn pipes up about her Necromancer. Then, Pierce and I, with no small amount of sadistic glee (Cause trust me, at this point the contempt we felt for this geekish afterbirth exceeded our usual amounts exponentially) announce that we are playing a Human Knight and an Elven Duskblade, from the PHB II. He looked at us like we kicked his baby.

So after explaining to this assjack what they were, where they were from, and that in no uncertain terms, but couched in deep metaphor, we would be playing these characters whether he liked it or not, he announced something that would make me want to shiv him.

“Okay, but those stats you have will have to go, we’ll be using the point-buy method. We had a problem with my other group with people bringing characters to the table with at least one or two 18s on them.”

Did this asshole just accuse us of cheating, AGAIN, without knowing us from Job?

Why yes, I believe he did. I may have to cause him pain now. The look Pierce shot me was basically “You take him down, I’ll squat over him and shit on his glasses. Then we start the beatings.”

So, grudgingly, and with no small amount of eyeballing, I get to work converting our characters (as we all used the roll method, and got decent stats without being gamebreakers) and we tell him to start getting ready to run the game. To which he replies, “I, um, forgot the module at home.”

Okay, first off I think anyone that runs straight from the module, verbatim, needs to just stop DMing. Second of all, if you aren’t even fucking organized enough to BRING YOUR SHIT TO THE TABLE WITH YOU, get the hell out of my general vicinity. So we send him packing to go get the module.

Poor Jenn, Pierce and I kept mouthing off about how I wanted to make this guy cry, and he was so ready to just drive the hell away and go play handball with testicles, or somesuch Pierce-ish shit like that.

So he gets back, and Jenn and Kyra are still working on their characters. Pierce and I take a breather outside, head up to his car to check his phone for messages, and he turned to me:

“So what’s the plan, chief?”

Thinking for a moment, I smile evilly and look at him. “Captain Sidetrack and his sidekick Dynaball. What we do is prolong the pregame as long as we can, stalling every effort out we can. Then we announce we have shit to do tomorrow, and have to leave like around 10ish. That oughta do it.”

Pierce, God love him, just nodded, smirked and said, “Right.”

Yeah, we stalled him out. Game ended up not starting until almost 9:30 thanks to Pierce and I. And when it did start, the only highlight of the game was the interpersonal dynamics of the characters. This asshole had over an hour to study the module AFTER HE WENT AND RETRIEVED IT, and he NEVER read it once. He proved no meaningful input at all to the game, basically funcitioning as a point of derision for Pierce and I all through the night.

If you’re reading this, and you’re the asshole DM (who’s name I have THANKFULLY blocked out), JESUS CHRIST YOU SUCK! JUST STOP NOW AND GO BACK TO BEING A PLAYER ‘CAUSE HOLY SHIT YOU SUCK!

Honest to God… I have read the module, it presents the ties in black and white, and he just thought he was witty enough to roll with it. Dude, you are so not even close to the class of player you had at the table last night.

By the way, I am still looking for a good session of tabletop.

First Posted Sunday June 24, 2006

Oh holy shit, have any of you seen the commercial for A-1, where Jimmy Dumbass drops a droplet of steak sauce on the grill, and they show him lean down, then cut to him in the back of an ambulance with a bandaged tongue, and asking if his steak is okay?

That, right there, is a prime example of natural selection. I was watching TV with some family when that piece of drivel came on, and damned if one of my family members (who shall remain nameless) piped up with, “They shouldn’t show that, someone might try it and get hurt.”

Sometimes, I wonder if I really am born of this bloodline.

WHADDAYA MEAN “they shouldn’t show that”? THEY SHOULD! IN AN EFFORT TO THIN THE GENE POOL SOME!

I fully admit, there are assholes out there who WILL try this, and then try and sue A-1 for showing it on TV, claiming that is misportrayed the consequences. BULLSHIT!

It is people like these that cause us to have those tiny little tags on our appliances warning us not to use our hairdryers in the shower, and not to put our hands in the food processor while it is running. These people are the ones that are dragging down our standards in education, and in day to day life.

Anyone out there want to tell me why the fuck you can’t smoke a cigarette OUTSIDE in California or New York? Anyone? Anyone fucking at all? Someone want to tell me the LOGIC behind this?

That’s right, you can’t. Even if you support it, there is no factual background to support such a decision. Why in the hell should you not be allowed to smoke OUTSIDE? There is a goddamn breeze and everything.

Stupidity folks. That is all there is to it, it is plain and simple stupidity. These people hitched on to the bandwagon, toed the party line, and in general became such a pain in our collective asses that we just try to ignore them, instead of firing back.

And that folks is why we are where we are.

Fuck this noise, I may not be a smoker, but I am gonna light up a big old cigar on the streets of New York, and make sure I have the money to pay the citation.

Fuck ’em if they can’t take it.

First Posted Monday November 20th, 2006

Holy frickin hell. I had a decent weekend except for a coupla things.

First of all, if I hear “Oh, it doesn’t need to snow this year” one more time, I am going to beat the everliving shit out of that person. Here’s a clue asshole: You Live In Western PA. IT’S GONNA SNOW, JACKASS! Whether you like it or not, that flaky white shit, reminiscent of dandruff but freakin cold, is gonna fall. And it is gonna pile up, it is gonna get colder.

IT’S CALLED GODDAMN WINTER!

You have probably lived here your entire life, and you know, come this time of year, F*CK it gets cold! Year after year. Nope, no big changes, to sudden monsoons or heatwaves making it 98 in December. You should know this by now. If you don’t like it, get the hell out.

I am serious, go to goddamn Florida or some shit. Have fun with the crocodiles. Me? I’ll stay here in PA, and remember what it’s like to have goddamn SEASONS!

Next, I want to send a message to anyone out there fooling themselves into thinking that “Happy Holidays” means anything but Merry-effing-Christmas. Look, I didn’t choose for Christmas to be the premiere winter holiday. I realize there is Hanukkah and Kwanza out there, but they never have, and may never will, draw people like Christmas does.

“Oh, but we don’t want to offend anyone by saying Merry Christmas, it’s not PC.”

Screw PC. PC is for those wusses out there trying to make the world into a McMonoculture. Up yours. It’s Christmas. No Xmas, no Happy Holidays, no Seasons Greetings. Merry. Christmas.

Say it with me, Merry Christmas.

There. Didn’t kill you, did it?

Oh, and you women out there that maybe just on that side of the international Age line, or maybe (like me), just four or five big steps on the other side of the fatass line, please dress accordingly.

A man’s belly should not look like a cameltoe in a Tshirt. And a woman should not wear clothes that seventeen year olds wear when her tits hang to her kness. I don’t want to see that, they don’t want to see that, and if you keep it, you won’t want to see what I do to you for it. Just… dress like you have a goddamn brain please.

Oh, and back to the Christmas thing… if you goddamn morons think that the way we celebrate Christmas has ANYTHING at ALL to do with the religious significance of the holiday… Shut up. Most all of the traditions we use to “celebrate” Christmas were in fact pagan traditions adapted so that the early Catholic Church could suck in pagans.

Advent wreath? Nope, pagan. Christmas Tree? Way pagan. Holly and Mistletoe? Pagan again (druidic actually). Giving Gifts? Pagan, and then raped by corporate America to sell shit.

Get the idea?

Jesus people, grow a damn brain please. Please? For the love of sweet Baby Jesus, born in a God-forsaken BARN, grow a brain and start acting like you have a freaking clue…

First Posted Sunday May 13, 2007

Yeah, so it’s been a long damn time since I posted… and a lot has happened.

Skip the bad shit, there isn’t enough time in life to dwell on that crap. Finally got those busted teeth out of my mouth (Only took me two and a half years), adopted a slightly adjusted outlook on life, and find myself growing more and more frustrated with humanity as a whole. Mostly because I work retail.

The goddamn throngs of humanity, oh how I abhorr them. Understand, I have nothing against most of the world, just the stupid asshats. And I do mean stupid. Note that by stupid I do not mean mentally deficient by defect of birth or accidental circumstance.

I mean by fault of being a fucking idiot.

You come into my store and ask about a book that was just “So good!” and you don’t know the goddamn title or author, and expect me to know it by the color of the cover? Fuck off and quit breathing my air.

You work at a store and I ask where I can find some damn stationery pieces, like pens and notebooks and shit, and you give me a blank stare that would make Forrest Goddamn Gump wonder, go play in traffic.

You screw something up and come to me, and expect me to fix it because you are too much of a goddamn waterhead to figure it out yourself, go stick it in a lightsocket. Your fuck up does not equate to my emergency assjack.

And women, for the love of God, if you come into my store wearing something that the tag for washing directions on it comprises half the damn fabric of the clothing, do not be shocked when I look at you. You hang em out there, I am gonna look. This would be because I am not stupid, and understand that if I am getting a show I do not have to pay for, I am bringing goddamn popcorn.

Oh, real quick. For the Christ’s sake, if you have thighs that look like cottage cheese stuffed in a fucking balloon, don’t wear daisy dukes, okay? Thanks for playing our game.

I am not one of the cool people. Never was, most likely never will be. I am a geek, a nerd and a dweeb at times. I know a hell of a lot of people, and I hang with just about every crowd.

I will not hang with fucking idiots.

Do us a favor, eliminate yourself from the gene pool.

Thanks for swimming.

First Posted May 7, 2007

Holy shit, I can’t even make this stuff up people.

Before I get rolling, go read this news story.

Yeah, you read it right, $100,000 bail for yelling at a goddamn dog. A dog, no matter how he is trained, is NOT A POLICE OFFICER! No thumbs, no speech pattern, not a cop. Not a fucking cop.

Granted, I believe many cops would spend their time licking themselves if they could, but that still does not make a police dog a cop. Nope, not the same DNA as a human, no intelligible speech patterns, no intense craving for donuts.

This is a sign of just how goddamn stupid our society has gotten. Instead of using the court’s time to indict serious criminals guilty of assault, drug possession, murder or rape, we are going to haul in some poor son of a bitch who was only guilty of yelling at a dog that was ALREADY BARKING (i.e. the dog form of YELLING) AT HIM! And so what if he threatened to slice the dog. I have threatened to beat the living shit out of human beings and meant it a hell of a sight more than this kid did.

No prior record, not even a jaywalking charge. No illegal weapons or substances on him. Not even a whiff of booze on his breath. He was walking home after a day at work. That’s right folks, WALKING home after a day at WORK. We all know how cranky any of us can get after a good eight hours slinging our respective hash.

God forbid a man get a chance to scream and yell without causing actual harm.

Oh, and as far as yelling at a cop being illegal, that’s a load of horseshit too. Whatsamatter, we gonna hurt their fucking feelings so bad they cry? Jesus Christ, if they are that much of a wimp, I don’t want them protecting and serving me.

$100,000 bail for yelling at a goddamn dog…

I wonder what my fine is going to be for posting this?

Oh, that’s right, I don’t give a shit.

Let me know what you think guys…

First Posted Saturday January 26, 2008

I can feel the rain, dripping from my face, running down my shoulders, my back.

It runs from me, gliding over like oil on steel, and plasters my hair to my head.

Lighting flashes and thunder warns, but still I stand there, head hung in the rain.

Darkness around, darkness within, darkness that lives, breathes, eats, and kills.

Cold, seeping into bones and sapping strength, drawing life with cloudy breath.

And fear, running the world, raking all it can with nails sharp as nightmares.

My hand balls, a fist tight and fierce, and my arm clenches, forcing the blood.

Blood that pumps like liquid fire through my veins, tearing away the sloth of the storm.

I can feel it, the passion, the pain, the truth, the strength, and that I am not alone.

I may have felt it at times, as if the things I did in hope of doing the right thing.

That my voice echoed long and forlorn, over a misty vale that had no end but dawn.

And as I gave up on hearing, first one voice, then others, rang loud through the night.

With clenched fist and bright eyes I look up, and feel it, the storm inside of me.

Winds howl, lighting rips, thunder echoes, and clouds build, and the passion mounts.

I stand tall, raising my fist in the air, and feel the rain run from me in rivulets of fire.

No fear shall take me, this night or any other night yet to come in this life.

No pain shall claim me, from within or without, others or my self, I stand tall.

No darkness shall engulf me, as I am lit from within and without by those around me.

Steel is my heritage, steel is my body, my soul, my mind, steel is what I am.

Inexorable, inevitable, undeniable I will not falter or break, founder or bend.

Step by step, I will walk my path forever, until I am called unto another life.

And maybe, just maybe, that life will be one of light, warmth, laughter and comfort.

First Posted Wednesday February 6, 2008 as True Passion

In the barely there dark,

I can still taste your kisses.

I can see your eyes by the

Gentle light of elsewhere.

They shine and call, locking me

Into your half-lidded gaze.

I can still feel the soft skin of

The small of your back, and

The fingers I twine my own around.

The scent of your hair teases,

Drawing my mind to the

Here and now, and nothing more.

Your voice a whisper; mine won’t even come.

You draw me back down to your kiss,

And all I know is the world I can

Give to you, all of me in a kiss.

I never can match the wonder of this night.

But I will try to, forever.

((Love only feels good because we know we don’t need to hurt anymore when we have it. And that is why, if it is gone, death doesn’t seem enough to stop the hurt.))

First Posted February 7, 2008

Go, right now, and read this steaming pile of horseshit.

You read the same thing that I did, right? The bill they were trying to pass to ban people with a Body Mass Index (BMI) over 30. Checking on the BMI Table I found (here), I am approximately 6 feet tall, and currently I weigh in at 285 pounds. This gives me a BMI of 37-38. This means that, were I to walk into a restaurant in Mississippi, they would be forced to deny me service, or risk LOSING THEIR BUSINESS PERMITS!

This is such a ridiculous piece of fascism that I cannot laugh at this in any way. I am a big man, and I used to be bigger. I know a lot of big guys. I know a number of guys that would, literally, but a man through a table if he tried to deny him the right to order the food he wants in the restaurant he likes because some skinny dried up old asshole proposed a bill that makes this particular brand of neofascist Food-Nazi doctrine. Click that link, and learn about this jackhole that proposed this bill.

Yeah, do you see that there, what he did for a living? Retired Pharmaceutical SALES. HE SOLD SCRIPS FOR FUCK’S SAKE! He is NOT a medical doctor, not a doctor in a bariatric facility, not a dietician. HE SOLD GODDAMN PRESCRIPTION MEDICATION!. You wanna tell me how this gives him the background and the right to propose this?

When did it become Illegal for me to eat food I like? Granted, my eating habits have changed GROSSLY in the past five years. They are nowhere near as bad as they used to be, but the point remains: Who the flying hell are you to tell me what I will and will not put into my body? I will be DAMNED if I decide to walk into a McDonalds, just peckish enough to want a Big Mac and a Coke, and some poor bastard is forced into telling me I can’t have them.

First of all, can you imagine being that poor little shit that has to do that? Second, You do realize that there are many people that will react in eventual violence to this. You are PUBLICLY criticizing someone and calling them obese. Sounds like harassment to me. And finally, the last I knew, the Declaration of Independence protected against this behavior:

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. — That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, — That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such principles and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness. Prudence, indeed, will dictate that Governments long established should not be changed for light and transient causes; and accordingly all experience hath shewn that mankind are more disposed to suffer, while evils are sufferable than to right themselves by abolishing the forms to which they are accustomed. But when a long train of abuses and usurpations, pursuing invariably the same Object evinces a design to reduce them under absolute Despotism, it is their right, it is their duty, to throw off such Government, and to provide new Guards for their future security.”

That is, verbatim, the phrasing of the Declaration of Indepence, the second paragraph. Time to take our country back folks. This bill is proof that our complacency has let our country decay to the point where we need to fix it.

Speak up, make your voice known. Exercise your rights, make it known aloud and clear that we must return to our beginnings, and stand again proud.

Oh, and so you all know, the bill was shot down.

P.S.: W. T. Mayhall, Jr., I sincerely hope that one day soon, you come to viscerally understand that what you have suggested is so filthy and degrading that it shames you into printing an apology. If not, then you get what you deserve.

First Posted February 17, 2008 as Me and My Brother

You know, normally here is where I either A) subject you to my borderline emo poetry; or B) let loose a stream of vitriol and rage and subject you to my borderline psychotic prose. Fun, I know. But this time, it’s to share something a little more special and less… freak.

My brother Sean and I have a pretty cool relationship, and have for years. Granted, we have had our spats, sometimes for years where we were feuding, but when it came down to it, we have always been there for each other, even putting aside our personal squabbles to help the other out. Hell, we have gone toe to toe, sometimes physically, with others for each other, including our parents.

But nothing, and I mean NOTHING sums up our relationship like this excerpt from the Rodeny Carrington book, Coming Clean:

“The punishment accomplishes two things: It brings the boys closer together, and entertains the hell out of me.

“The problem is that they’ve gotten too close. One day, my oldest boy smarted off to my wife. I couldn’t make the boy repeat “I’m on Top of the World” to his mother, that would be too cruel, so I said, ‘Zach, I’m about to whip you.’

“My youngest boy, who was five, carrying a plastic Viking sword and wearing a Viking helmet with two big horns, cowboy boots, and nothing else – which oddly enough is what I normally wear around the house – said to me, ‘If you touch my older brother, I’m going to light your ass up.’

“I went to whip his older brother, and sure enough he lit my ass up. He hit me in the shin with the plastic sword, and I did what any parent would have done. I grabbed the nearest thing and hit him in the back of the head with a limp fish my wife was defrosting on the kitchen counter. Which scared me, because he went down real fast.

“I said, ‘George! George! Are you all right, George!?’

“He jumped up and said, ‘Ha! Got you, Dad,’ and ran off.”

That folks, is my brother and I in a nutshell. We may get pretty rough on each other, but you butt your ass in on our world, and prepare for the worst. Even if it is just a plastic Viking sword to the shin.

First Posted July 29, 2008

Okay, I just read an email that proves how uninformed our country is becoming. I will repost the email right here:

Dear Friends,

As I was listening to a news program last night, I watched in horror as

Barack Obama made the statement with pride. . ‘we are no longer a Christian

nation; we are now a nation of Christians, Jews, Muslims, Buddhists, . . .

As with so many other statements I’ve heard him (and his wife) make, I never

thought I’d see the day that I’d hear something like that from a presidential

candidate in this nation. To think our forefathers fought and died for the

right for our nation to be a Christian nation–and to have this man say with pride

that we are no longer that. How far this nation has come from what our

founding fathers intended it to be.

I hope that each of you will do what I’m doing now–send your concerns,

written simply and sincerely, to the Christians on your email list. With

God’s help, and He is still in control of this nation and all else, we can show

this man and the world in November that we are, indeed, still a Christian nation!

Please pray for our nation!

Our forefathers did NOT fight to make a Christian nation, they fought, and DIED, to make a nation of FREEDOM OF RELIGION, as well as other freedoms. Christianity happened to be the majority religion. And even then, not all the same sect of Christianity.

Our forefathers came here because they were tired of being persecuted for their beliefs. And actually, Obama is RIGHT! We are a nation of diversity and multitude. We need to unite in our differences, and embrace that it is that freedom to choose what religion we wish, that law that allows us to be individuals that can unite us.

I am NOT a fan of Barack Obama. His ambition frightens me. But I will NOT decide against him based on the fact that he is speaking a truth about our country. Diversity is what makes us great, not uniformity. The only socio-economic model that has ever preached uniformity over diversity was called Communism. As you can see, that didn’t work so damn well.

STOP falling prey to this stupidity! Use your brains and your educations people! Make your decisions based on reason and fact, not on conjecture and hoo-doo. Come on people.

Yet again, it seems, the Lowest Common Denominator takes precedence. Hooo. Ray. For. Us.

EDIT: I just found an online newspaper link about the EXACT speech given on June 22nd. Here you go!

First Posted October 15, 2008 as Holy Crap, I think I just became the Alpha Geek…

No kidding there I was…
I just got home from game night tonight, and this was waiting for me in my email inbox…

Verbatim:

Hello –

Our records indicate that you were the very first subscriber to Dungeons and Dragons Insider! Do you mind if we use your name in our public relations messaging? I was thinking of giving you a shout out in my Digital Insider column tonight, but I didn’t want to call attention to your name or username if you were uncomfortable for any reason. Also, I’d like to hear a little about who you are, how you heard about D&DI, why you signed up right away, etc.

Meanwhile if you could confirm your mailing address for us, the marketing department has been thinking about sending you a care package of some kind to commemorate this honor!

Thanks,

Randy Buehler

Vice President of Digital Gaming

Wizards of the Coast

No shit gang, I just became lead geek.  Twenty some years of playing the game, and other geek activities and it nets me this…

Hey, maybe this will get me some cred with the ever reclusive gamer girls…

Yeah right, dream on nimrod…

First Posted March 11, 2009

I really have to rebut something here.  Anyone on this thing that is friended to me knows I am one hell of a game geek.  I have played I do not know how many tabletop roleplaying games, and read through even more without playing.  With the new edition of Dungeons and Dragons out for 3/4 a year now, I have done a review on my Angry Dragon MySpace of the new edition, and recently, had a chance to watch the PugKnowsPro two part review of 4E.  In it, he reiterates something I have heard for quite some time about it: It eliminates ROLEplaying.

Ahem… bull.  What it has done is gone back to it’s roots as simply a conflict resolution engine.  Through the 70s and 80s, the rules existed only to resolve combat and important situations, with ROLEplaying being left up to the players and DM.  Then, in the early to mid nineties, White Wolf came up with their Storyteller system, which put the emphasis on using skills to show how good your character was at social interaction of any kind.  It changed the gaming paradigm to say, “If combat has rules and rolls, so should social interaction and story progression.”

At that turning point, things changed.  In the new edition, there are still skills that do this: Bluff, Intimidate.  And what’s more, they’ve instated Skill Challenges.  Now here is where PugKnowsPro brought up a point I think is completely invalid: Skill challenges eliminate actual RP.  Wrong again.  What they do is create an encounter like situation wherein a character can use their skills, not JUST social ones, but even physical ones for overcoming serious obstacles, and be rewarded for it.  When it comes down to it, the mechanic still allows for the DM to give the player’s modifiers to their rolls for good roleplaying.  This means that your Diplomacy roll with the Baron could get a little boost from some intense speechgiving and pleading on behalf of the peasantry.

This engine, while it does seem to have it’s snags at times, has placed RP solely back into the province of the players and DM, to provide flavor and detail to what is happening.

The other thing I have heard is that it is an MMO on tabletop.  While this edition does have a more cinematic feel to it, it is not an MMO.  It has done a good job of adapting a game that is the granddaddy of all RPGs to an era where MMOs rule, and made it a good contender.  No longer is it just “I gonna hit him with my sword.”.  Now it’s “I am going to take a wild swing with my Reaping Strike!”  This may not seem like much, but since each attack has a name and resolution printed right in the book, it has eliminated a lot of rule cross-referencing that had to happen in old editions.  And the use of cards for each of these abilities has made it even easier to clarify the effects.

What this game has done, is simplified things a good deal.  now this is both a good and a bad thing.  By simplifying things, it makes it more enjoyable to play and DM.  No more stalling play for ten minutes to reference this obscure rule, or argue the point of why the DMs interpretation isn’t accurate.  Play moves quickly and enjoyably, and to be honest, mortality is a very real threat now, if your players do not have their tacticals ready and on the spot.  However, it is easy to bulldoze over someone that does not quite understand the way things go.  I know I said that it is much more simplistic.  But there are still people that need help to understand the flow of the game.  Too often people will take their own understanding of things for granted.

Some people have said that you HAVE to have miniatures to play this edition.  You don’t.  Period.  Is it built to utilize miniatures?  Yes it is. Of course it is.  It was made by a company owned by a toy manufacturer.  But don’t any of you remember the times Before, when maybe two guys had miniatures for their characters, and we just drew on graph paper or on notebook paper?  When a character sheet was jotted down on the old legal pad your gramdfather gave you?  They are not NECSSARY.

What this comes down to, all of it, is that many of you are looking for reasons to preclude this enjoyable game from your experience on the basis of, “Christ, another edition?”  Four editions in 35 odd years of existence is actually a low rate.  Check some of the other games out there like GURPS, SHADOWRUN and the like.  And what’s more, each edition is distinct from the other.

What do you think?

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] level of pissed that normally I reserve for election years.  If you all want to look back, in my post about old blogs under the subheading “First Posted May 7, 2007,” I rail against a young man being arrested and […]

Leave a Reply

